SPLINTER IN THE BLOOD

Sergeant Ruth Lake and DCI Greg Carver are on the hunt for a serial killer who poses his victims fully-dressed and carefully arranged, every inch of their bodies covered in intricate, cryptic tattoos. The ‘Thorn Killer’, uses a primitive and excruciatingly painful thorn method to etch his victims. After many months, a breakthrough feels imminent. Then the killer gets personal: the latest victim – a student found only a week earlier – is staged to look like Carver’s wife.

Pushed over the edge, Carver spirals into a self-destructive cycle of booze and risky sex. Now he lies near death, and the unreadable Lake stands over him with a gun. Did she shoot her boss? If not, why is she removing evidence from his apartment, faking the scene?

Praise

One of the boldest, most inventive serial-killer thrillers since The Silence of the Lambs. Packed with forensic detail, anchored by a protagonist as complicated as she is compelling, this ferocious novel is perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and Lisa Gardner.”  AJ Finn, author of NY Times bestseller, The Woman In the Window

“Compelling, clever. Packed with macabre and fascinating forensic details. A stunning debut.”                 Mo Hayder, bestselling author

“A taut and compelling thriller, as sharp as the thorns that feature in the plot.”   Ann Cleeves

[An] enthralling debut…. The skillfully constructed plot complements the intriguing characters, including a deliciously creepy killer who lurks in the background. Dyer is definitely a crime writer to watch.”   Publishers Weekly (starred review)

With complicated leads and a ruthless killer whose method is barbaric enough to be frightening without shading into the grotesque, this is a debut worthy of sequels.”      Kirkus Reviews

[T]his debut spins to a breathless conclusion. Solid suspense fiction by a knowledgeable duo.”   Booklist

“A proper page turner of a read and very well written, giving a fresh feel to proceedings even whilst following the best tropes of the crime thriller.”  Liz Loves Books

“This novel starts off with a bang of a puzzler and keeps surprising all the way through….Very nice start to a new series.”   Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine

“This is a series to devour.”  CrimeSquad (Book of the Month April 2018)

“Dyer’s unconventional approach to the story of a serial killer and the detectives who are trying to catch the them is fresh and innovative.”  Murder and Moore

“This is a fascinating story, highly original and filled with complex twists you won’t see coming until they are upon you. Highly recommended.”   Auntie M Writes

“A spellbinding mystery with a fascinating storyline. This gripping debut is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy well-written British police procedurals.”
Book Reviews And More

“A tight, deliciously woven plot, multi-faceted and unpredictable characters, beautifully constructed descriptive prose and a tension that builds throughout that is as superb as it is disturbing.”                  Chris High Reviews

“What an interesting approach… Dyer is very good at keeping the reader off balance.”
 Books Are Magic

“DS Ruth Lake is a superb creation. An introvert in a world of big extrovert egos, she uses stillness and quietness to great effect in holding the waves of testosterone on all sides at bay.   Anna Caig, Sheffield Telegraph

Read chapter one of ‘Splinter in the Blood’

Amazon UK – Splinter in the Blood Audiobook – Unabridged